View Full Version : How to obtain real whois informatoin?
hitboy
May 31st 2008, 2:53 pm
I was wondering after trying to find the contact information for a certain domain I am unable to do it. Are there any methods out there from which I can find contact information for a domain even if they have whois privacy. i am searching for this because I want to buy the domain thanks!
hamik112
May 31st 2008, 2:58 pm
No you cant,unless they are doing something illegal, in which you can contact their WebHost and get them shutdown.
welkin
May 31st 2008, 2:59 pm
I don't think there is a regular method to do this but I think that in most of the cases if you send an email to the privacy contact it is forwardeed to the real owner's email address. I have received such forwarded emails in the past on names with privacy.
hitboy
May 31st 2008, 3:56 pm
ok thanks for telling me
Pandemix
May 31st 2008, 4:44 pm
Whois info is whois info...some people enter the incorrect info...
Alteo
May 31st 2008, 4:49 pm
Whois info is whois info...some people enter the incorrect info...
You are fully right, and i think that not some but a lot, maybe it's something illegal or they want to be private, don't know.
Trusted Writer
May 31st 2008, 4:56 pm
i am searching for this because I want to buy the domain thanks!
Even finding a way to skip whois privacy or paying a private eye to find the info for you, that is not a guarantee that such domain's owner may want to sell it.
hitboy
May 31st 2008, 5:00 pm
Even finding a way to skip whois privacy or paying a private eye to find the info for you, that is not a guarantee that such domain's owner may want to sell it.
true but seeing as the domain has never been active for the last 8 years seems to be they want to sell it... lol
Trusted Writer
May 31st 2008, 5:04 pm
Please, don't tell me you want www.IhateYouAll.com
My hubby has been behind that domain rarely updated when the owner has something to say, otherwise displaying nothing since the last 8 years.
It used to have a real whois contact person associated to a hosting service, probably the reason why he/she switched to privacy not long ago... or perhaps due to my hubby bothering because he wants that domain too, LOL
Pandemix
May 31st 2008, 5:07 pm
You are fully right, and i think that not some but a lot, maybe it's something illegal or they want to be private, don't know.
It is against ICANN rules to do this.
hitboy
May 31st 2008, 5:07 pm
uh no i dont want that domain lol
WebmasterTL
Jun 1st 2008, 2:16 am
Please, don't tell me you want www.IhateYouAll.com
My hubby has been behind that domain rarely updated when the owner has something to say, otherwise displaying nothing since the last 8 years.
It used to have a real whois contact person associated to a hosting service, probably the reason why he/she switched to privacy not long ago... or perhaps due to my hubby bothering because he wants that domain too, LOL
People.. No promotion allowed:p Anyway its 9 years old not 8.
Emm.. Sometimes you can be lucky by sending to admin@domainname.com
A few registrar will auto send to the real email from the root domain name. Goodluck
p/s- Usually what you see on whois.sc is not always accurate as people misguide their info and also when there is a private domain reg there must be a reason even though they don't seem to be active but its their rite to do so.
Trusted Writer
Jun 1st 2008, 2:36 am
Well, last time my hubby was trying to buy it it was still 8 years old.
Even though I will share with him your idea so you will see him again chasing it, LOL
Thanks :)
WebmasterTL
Jun 1st 2008, 5:34 am
LOL..haha.. no prob.
hitboy
Jun 1st 2008, 12:26 pm
well crap i really want this domain lol how do places like sedo get in contact with domain owners..
welkin
Jun 1st 2008, 12:30 pm
Have you already tried to write to the email listed in the whois info?
Faint
Jun 1st 2008, 12:44 pm
Try emailing the email listed. It may look like gibberish, but it will forward to the owner's email that the domain registrar has them down for. At least, this is how NameCheap's domain privacy system works. Is there anyway you can post or PM me the domain you want to buy so I can attempt to find out if there is alternative way to contact the person?
Best of luck in buying the domain. :)
mozzeratti
Jun 3rd 2008, 2:35 am
Yes, Hitboy...send an e-mail to:
1) The Administrative Contact listed in the WHOIS.
2) admin@TheDomainName .com
It's also possible that for whatever reason, the registrant does not want to sell and will not
entertain ANY offers.
You mentioned SEDO.
If the domain is parked with or for sale on SEDO, then just follow the directions and let SEDO do the rest.
hitboy
Jun 3rd 2008, 9:42 am
I thought sedo has a service where they help you acquire a domain name. How do they get in contact with the owners is there a special way they do it?
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.