View Full Version : Domain register of America. FOOK a scam
LuffE
Apr 28th 2006, 2:35 am
Hi
Ive been getting this huge scam in my snail mail from Domain Registry Of America, that they wanna transfer and renew my expirering domains for 50$ for 2 years.:eek:
Who the f00k are they kidding, do they think webmasters run around the garden with a stick up their arse ?, jumping into nigerian spam mails going for the big fortune. :D
Sorry, had to post this as i was LMAO for over an hour, do people really fall into theese kinda expensive solutions ? :D
LuffE
LuffE
Apr 28th 2006, 2:42 am
Actually its not a scam its just a total ripoff. I bet they really do wanna register your domains. hehehehehehe
Just read the terms in font size 0.5 px.... 250$ reinstatement fee .... LOOOOOOL
LinkBliss
Apr 28th 2006, 2:55 am
I have been called by some Domain Verification thing on my cell phone and they don't understand the meaning of "put me on your do not call list", they just keep trying to explain and then call me back. Remind me never to put my cell phone on any whois.
A few years ago I gave Discover my cell phone # and was totally pis$ed at the 30 or 40 phone calls I received for offers of life insurance and credit protection and cr4p. In that case at least people understood what a do not call list is and it eventually stopped.
Eric
LinkBliss
Apr 28th 2006, 2:57 am
You know just glancing at your sig I see Bufas but read fukas, I don't know maybe it is me and a Freudian thing sorry.
Eric
riotz
Apr 28th 2006, 3:36 am
I get the same shit, probably from the same a$$holes, but they call themselves the 'Domain Registry of Canada'.. Same rip off prices. Like yeah, I pay $5.99 US a year for my domains through my host, I'm going to renew with you clowns that I've never heard of for $25 or $50 CDN a year...
Reminds me of the first domain I registered, other than the main one I was using actively.. (It was kinkysluts.org) I got a call not long after I registered it from some web design company that wanted to help me develop my website. OK so they woke me up and pissed me off, so I was like hmm, and what website are you referring to? (Knowing that since I JUST registered it and my other one I registered months before, that he was probably talking about the new one) LOL he was like ummm let me see, it's umm, kinky sluts dot org.. Uhhhm. I don't remember exactly what I said but I was POed so I was like, well I already have hosting, and I design my own stuff anyways, so I don't need to pay someone to do it. Besides, I'm a little short on kinky sluts these days so I don't really have any content at this point...
riotz
Apr 28th 2006, 3:37 am
(And I've never had a spam phone call from them or any others since then) :D
Dio
Apr 28th 2006, 3:38 am
I get the domain registry of America letters here in the UK as well, I laughed when I got my first one as well. But, you'd be amazed enough people do it to make it worth their while, as it looks official looking.
LuffE
Apr 28th 2006, 4:01 am
Yes unfortunatly i bet they have a successful business, but so do nigerian spammers with their get rich mails.
My theory, the internet is : 50% ripoffs and scam, 30% porn/warez and 20% usefull stuff..
AmyNelson
Apr 28th 2006, 4:43 am
There's similar scams here in the UK.
BryceW
Apr 28th 2006, 5:11 am
Im getting these "Domain Registry of America" snail-mails here in Australia too.
mhdoc
Apr 29th 2006, 9:13 am
I used to have my customers register domains in their names since that is safer for them if something happens to me. After three of three fell for the Domain names of America scam, I changed that procedure :)
So I think they make a ton of money doing it.
RectangleMan
Apr 29th 2006, 8:01 pm
Yes unfortunatly i bet they have a successful business, but so do nigerian spammers with their get rich mails.
My theory, the internet is : 50% ripoffs and scam, 30% porn/warez and 20% usefull stuff..
hmm..
I think more like 1% useful. Many domains are simply parked doing nothing.
smokey99
Apr 10th 2008, 11:44 am
Many of my clients are getting the ones from Domain Registry of Canada.
This is a total scam, trying to fool people into switching to a registrar called Namejuice who are connected to Domain Registry of Canada. They are both based in Unionville Ont (A Very small area)
They claim to not send unsolicited email or requests for domain transfer, I think they phone and trick you into agreeing to transfer, then send the email.
smokey99
Apr 10th 2008, 12:41 pm
I just checked the whois
Domain registry of America
Domain registry of Canada
Namejuice
are all the same owners
There is a FTC release about them.
http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.shtm
smokey99
Apr 10th 2008, 1:50 pm
File a complaint with the Canadian Competition Bureau
http://www.competitionbureau.gc.ca/epic/site/cb-bc.nsf/en/01260e.html
domainloco.net
Apr 11th 2008, 5:49 am
lol simply do this, next time you register a domain, put their address on the WHOIS information and see if they mail themselves the dumb letters. I get one every week!
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.