View Full Version : Lots of suspicious links to my site...
Googles76
Dec 31st 2004, 8:03 am
I've just ran "www.sportfit.uni.cc -re" in google and came up with tons of links to my site that I don't even know how they got there. Does this happen to you guys? Also, I found a few links that I think may be harmful to me, they go like this:
www.theregisterplanet.com/ goto/?url=http://www.sportfit.uni.cc
and
www.metastrike.com/r.php?url=http://www.sportfit.uni.cc
What is interesting, both these sites have my site cached as if it were my own, they have the same page title and description. Is this an attempt to close me down/hijack my site? Thanks for any info.
flawebworks
Dec 31st 2004, 8:13 am
The registerplanet is a directory that uses redirects for the links. I couldn't bring up the metastrike site; but it looks like it could be the same setup.
exam
Dec 31st 2004, 10:31 am
> I found a few links that I think may be harmful to me
I don't think they could be harmful to you.
dfsweb
Jan 1st 2005, 2:19 am
I've just ran "www.sportfit.uni.cc -re" in google and came up with tons of links to my site that I don't even know how they got there. Does this happen to you guys? Also, I found a few links that I think may be harmful to me, they go like this:
www.theregisterplanet.com/ goto/?url=http://www.sportfit.uni.cc
and
www.metastrike.com/r.php?url=http://www.sportfit.uni.cc
What is interesting, both these sites have my site cached as if it were my own, they have the same page title and description. Is this an attempt to close me down/hijack my site? Thanks for any info.
Sites that link to you can't harm you IMO, as long as you don't link back to those sites.
UKZJ007
Jan 1st 2005, 5:40 am
Your not part of the coop network, right?
Googles76
Jan 1st 2005, 2:25 pm
Your not part of the coop network, right?
Not that I know of, I've submitted to a few directories, I guess those directories shared links with other directories and so on.
harver
Jan 2nd 2005, 12:58 am
Obscure incoming links keep happening to me all the time and they only can help you, imho
Sandpetra
Jun 7th 2006, 8:06 pm
The Google Site Maps team recently said incoming links dont hurt you (unles I suppose, youre responsible for them!
ValuableVisitors
Jun 7th 2006, 8:22 pm
I've seen this happen with a lot of high PR expiring domains. Many people have cloned the DMOZ directory so if you are listed there, you will get tons of links from these scraper sites.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.