Myspace Layouts - Best credit cards - Mortgage Calculator - Upvc Doors - Mortgages

PDA

View Full Version : Security Issue: Unauthorized access - lightspeedsystems.com?


aeronautic.net
Mar 5th 2006, 8:09 am
Has anyone else seen unauthorized access attempts on their server from:

IP address: 66.17.15.154
Host name: 66-17-15-154.security.lightspeedsystems.com ??

I caught them mucking around, or trying to muck around, in a directory they ought not to be. The access looks to have been from a bot which, if it was, ignored the robots.txt file.

In a way it may have been a form of referer spam since they seem to be flogging some security product - even more unethical in my opinion. :mad:

They have been told in no uncertain terms to stay off our server, and yes, the IP is blocked.

just-4-teens
Mar 5th 2006, 8:27 am
are you sure it is not your system admin, or hosting provider?

maybe its a search bot or something?

aeronautic.net
Mar 5th 2006, 8:34 am
are you sure it is not your system admin, or hosting provider?

maybe its a search bot or something?

Hi, thanks for the reply.

I'm the sys admin and as I said in the posting, they are flogging a security product, not a search engine.

No matter what their bot is up to, it ignored our robots.txt file.

Bad bot. Baaad bot. :mad:

just-4-teens
Mar 5th 2006, 9:49 am
Hi, thanks for the reply.

I'm the sys admin and as I said in the posting, they are flogging a security product, not a search engine.

No matter what their bot is up to, it ignored our robots.txt file.

Bad bot. Baaad bot. :mad:


if they are up 2 no good, block there ip/hostname

aeronautic.net
Mar 5th 2006, 10:21 am
Did that - as stated in first post - see end of it.

just-4-teens
Mar 5th 2006, 2:22 pm
haha sorry, i rele should actually start reading the post lol

if it is reffer spam they are giving you then it is fake hits they are giving you, so they might not actually be hitting your protected pages, but using a bot to fake the hits.

aeronautic.net
Mar 9th 2006, 9:05 am
Well, here are the rest of the facts in case someone else finds this thread via a google search:

It turns out they provide a (paid) site rating service for schools and the like. They sell information and block lists based on what they subjectively say about your site - with both manual and automatic tools.

No apology or explanation was offered why they (their bot) ignored a fully compliant robots.txt file.

In my opinion they are hackers and in violation of my copyright as they are reselling copies of content on my site without license.

They have been told to stay off my server and all domains, and, as stated above, the offending IP was blocked.