View Full Version : Site suddenly fail validation
Hot-screensaver
Mar 4th 2006, 1:08 am
My site is a blog at http://www.hot-screensaver.com/
The ads was validated and displaying fine, but suddenly failed some time ago. Now, when I click on the "Validate/Calculate Weight Now" link, it just says:
Ads not found on http://www.hot-screensaver.com/
Account not not yet activated. | Site failed automatic validation as of 2006-03-04 (make sure URL and site type is correct - if everything is correct, make a request in the forum for assistance).
However, all the time I can see the ads being displayed on my blog -- at the bottom of the page.
Please help. Thanks.
digitalpoint
Mar 4th 2006, 1:10 am
Your site returns this:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<title>412 Precondition Failed</title>
</head>
<body>
<h1>Precondition Failed</h1>
<p>We're sorry, but we could not fulfill your request for
/ on this server.</p>
<p>We have established rules for access to this server, and any person or robot
that violates these rules will be unable to access this site.</p>
<p>To resolve this problem, please try the following steps:</p>
<ul>
<li>Ensure that your computer is free of viruses, Trojan horses, spyware or
any other sort of malicious software.</li>
<li>If you are using any sort of personal firewall or browser privacy
software, check to ensure that its settings do not cause your web browser to
inadvertently violate any of the rules listed below.</li>
<li>If you are behind a Web proxy or corporate firewall, the proxy must
conform to the <a href="http://www.isi.edu/in-notes/rfc2616.txt">HTTP
specification</a> with respect to proxy servers. Contact your network
administrator if the trouble persists, or bypass the proxy and connect
directly if possible.</li>
<li>Disable any download accelerators you may be using. They don't speed up
your downloads anyway; in most cases, they actually run slower!</li>
<li>If all else fails, try using a different Web browser, such as
<a href="http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=32135&t=71">Firefox</a>.</li>
</ul>
<p>If you still need assistance, please contact <a href="mailto:jacky+nospam@nospam.hot-screensaver.com">jacky at hot-screensaver.com</a>.</p>
<h2>More Information</h2>
<p>For your reference, the conditions for access to this server are:</p>
<h3>Robots:</h3>
<ul>
<li>MUST read and obey <a href="http://www.robotstxt.org/">robots.txt</a>.</li>
<li>MUST identify themselves properly; for example MUST NOT identify as Mozilla.</li>
<li>MUST NOT pretend to be a human.</li>
</ul>
<h3>Humans:</h3>
<ul>
<li>MUST NOT pretend to be a robot.</li>
<li>MUST NOT use a computer infected with viruses, Trojan horses or other
malicious software.</li>
</ul>
<h3>Both:</h3>
<ul>
<li>MUST NOT harvest email addresses.</li>
<li>MUST NOT attempt to send spam.</li>
<li>MUST NOT attempt to compromise server security.</li>
<li>MUST NOT use excessive amounts of bandwidth or other server resources.</li>
</ul>
<p>The precondition on the request for the URL
/ evaluated to false.</p>
<hr>
</body>
</html>
Hot-screensaver
Mar 4th 2006, 2:16 am
Hmm... my hosting provider must have installed some software that idendified digitalpoint script as robot and thus disallow access...
Will check with them.
Hot-screensaver
Mar 6th 2006, 8:01 pm
My hosting provider is having difficulty solving this problem it seems. They pointed me to this site smartcomputing.com/techsupport/detail.aspx?guid=&ErrorID=22057 and say that the error could be due to your ads script?? But, I doubt.
Do you have any advice that could help in solving this problem? Thanks.
Hot-screensaver
Mar 7th 2006, 9:00 am
This is what my hosting provider emailed me:
In most cases yes, and we would be happy to assist you if we were aware what data your ad software attempts to send to our web-server, so we can see how exactly our system treats and accepts it. You will need to contact the website that is getting the 412 error and ask them how exactly they are sending the request.
The fact I see nothing logged in the server from the advertisement website what-so-ever, does lead me to beleive that the issue lies with them, however, if you can get the information requested above - I can double check.
---------------
Thus, is it possible to let us know how was the request being sent that leads to the "Precondition Failed" problem?
Many thanks.
mariush
Mar 7th 2006, 9:52 am
Sometimes when I validate my site (in the footer) .. it fails because somehow it tries to check for links in /forum/ , don't know why, perhaps that is the first google result on some datacenters and I don't have links on the forum.
Just a few clicks to validate and it gets validated.
Hot-screensaver
Mar 9th 2006, 10:15 pm
I tried many clicks, and the validation still fails.
daman69xo
Mar 10th 2006, 5:07 pm
Hi,
I saw the ranking on your hot-screensaver.com does well. How long did it take you to get up that high?
Are you still having trouble displaying your ads or validating? Alot of people's weight is on 0 today. I don't know why.
Hot-screensaver
Mar 16th 2006, 8:55 am
I am still having trouble validating...
LcF
Mar 17th 2006, 7:26 am
Same problem here. Suddenly received email saying that my site failed to validate.
My blog url is http://www.liewcf.com/blog
The Co-op ad is displaying correctly in the footer but still failed to validate.
digitalpoint
Mar 17th 2006, 11:59 am
Same problem here. Suddenly received email saying that my site failed to validate.
My blog url is http://www.liewcf.com/blog
The Co-op ad is displaying correctly in the footer but still failed to validate.Your blog is returning this to the validator...
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<title>412 Precondition Failed</title>
</head>
<body>
<h1>Precondition Failed</h1>
<p>We're sorry, but we could not fulfill your request for
/blog/ on this server.</p>
<p>We have established rules for access to this server, and any person or robot
that violates these rules will be unable to access this site.</p>
<p>To resolve this problem, please try the following steps:</p>
<ul>
<li>Ensure that your computer is free of viruses, Trojan horses, spyware or
any other sort of malicious software.</li>
<li>If you are using any sort of personal firewall or browser privacy
software, check to ensure that its settings do not cause your web browser to
inadvertently violate any of the rules listed below.</li>
<li>If you are behind a Web proxy or corporate firewall, the proxy must
conform to the <a href="http://www.isi.edu/in-notes/rfc2616.txt">HTTP
specification</a> with respect to proxy servers. Contact your network
administrator if the trouble persists, or bypass the proxy and connect
directly if possible.</li>
<li>Disable any download accelerators you may be using. They don't speed up
your downloads anyway; in most cases, they actually run slower!</li>
<li>If all else fails, try using a different Web browser, such as
<a href="http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=32135&t=71">Firefox</a>.</li>
</ul>
<p>If you still need assistance, please contact <a href="mailto:wp+nospam@nospam.liewcf.com">wp at liewcf.com</a>.</p>
<h2>More Information</h2>
<p>For your reference, the conditions for access to this server are:</p>
<h3>Robots:</h3>
<ul>
<li>MUST read and obey <a href="http://www.robotstxt.org/">robots.txt</a>.</li>
<li>MUST identify themselves properly; for example MUST NOT identify as Mozilla.</li>
<li>MUST NOT pretend to be a human.</li>
</ul>
<h3>Humans:</h3>
<ul>
<li>MUST NOT pretend to be a robot.</li>
<li>MUST NOT use a computer infected with viruses, Trojan horses or other
malicious software.</li>
</ul>
<h3>Both:</h3>
<ul>
<li>MUST NOT harvest email addresses.</li>
<li>MUST NOT attempt to send spam.</li>
<li>MUST NOT attempt to compromise server security.</li>
<li>MUST NOT use excessive amounts of bandwidth or other server resources.</li>
</ul>
<p>The precondition on the request for the URL
/blog/ evaluated to false.</p>
<hr>
<ADDRESS>Apache/1.3.34 Server at www.liewcf.com Port 80</ADDRESS>
</body>
</html>
LcF
Mar 18th 2006, 12:19 am
Ok. Problem solved.
It was caused by a WordPress anti comment spam plugin -- Bad Behavior (http://www.ioerror.us/software/bad-behavior/). Deactivate it and coop ad validated.
Hot-screensaver
Apr 6th 2006, 12:12 am
LcF, if you deactivated Bad Behavior, then how do you minimise spams you receive? Please advise what other anti-spam plugins, etc you are using.
LcF or any other gurus out there, any way to customize the bad behaviour script to allow this Digitalpoint Co-op ads system to work? :)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.