Proxy - Hypnosis - Online advertising - Mortgages - Mortgage Calculator

PDA

View Full Version : Chitika.com and Chitiak.com...Same Thing?


swoop
Oct 26th 2005, 7:31 pm
I noticed that chitika.com changed into chitiak.com somewhere during my visit to the site this evening. Was the site hijacked, did I type the wrong URL to begin with, or is it the same company?

The chitiak.com website has a logo which clearly says Chitika.

solution2u
Oct 26th 2005, 7:44 pm
If you type chitika.org, chitiak.com. in your browser, it will redirect you to chitika.com with their referral link. Many people use this trick now.

sayyes
Oct 26th 2005, 7:44 pm
DANGER!

I just tried pinging both sites, and it looks like they are from two separate domains. Be careful what you type!

webstien
Oct 26th 2005, 7:47 pm
its not that big a deal, its just a redirect to the official site using a referall.

LinkBliss
Oct 26th 2005, 8:34 pm
Is Chitika worth it? I just got accepted into Yahoo!'s publisher beta, which is more worth my time to investigate and place on my site?

Eric

TheHoff
Oct 26th 2005, 8:58 pm
Is Chitika worth it? I just got accepted into Yahoo!'s publisher beta, which is more worth my time to investigate and place on my site?

Eric

Chitika, definitely. You can use it in non-contextual mode with Adsense (http://chitikatips.com/chitika-with-adsense.php).. most people running both at the same time earn 150% or more of their normal.


its not that big a deal, its just a redirect to the official site using a referall.

--- so says the owner of cchitika.com :D :D :D I have one, too

swoop
Oct 27th 2005, 3:47 am
its not that big a deal, its just a redirect to the official site using a referall.
Maybe not always a big deal, but in this case I noticed the chitiak.com domain just after I had completed registering for an account. :mad:

Perhaps the owner of chitiak.com is harvesting registration info.

SamOwen
Oct 27th 2005, 1:13 pm
swoop you are being redirected to Chitika so it's all good.

This is very clever, I always mistyped Chitika when I first started out with them.

webstien
Oct 27th 2005, 1:53 pm
Maybe not always a big deal, but in this case I noticed the chitiak.com domain just after I had completed registering for an account. :mad:

Perhaps the owner of chitiak.com is harvesting registration info.

as the owner of chitiak.com, chhitika.com, etc. i promise you that im not harvesting your info, i just redirect to my referall ID. So dont worry about it! It goes to the official site!

Now you know why they call me Webstien! Einstein of the web! muahahaha

I removed the URL masking so you can be a little more at ease about the whole thing.

soul-healer
Oct 27th 2005, 1:59 pm
Yesterday earning was really bad, anyone experience low payout last night with Chitika

webstien
Oct 27th 2005, 2:58 pm
chitika has low clicks for me in general.

anjali_ny2005
Oct 27th 2005, 5:13 pm
Is Chitika delivers contextual Ads or not?? it's very confusing, on their website they are telling "Chitika delivers contextual services for you - in a snap!" after few line they are telling it's noncontextual.I'm confused with it.Can any one clearify this???

TheHoff
Oct 27th 2005, 5:14 pm
Is Chitika delivers contextual Ads or not?? it's very confusing, on their website they are telling "Chitika delivers contextual services for you - in a snap!" after few line they are telling it's noncontextual.I'm confused with it.Can any one clearify this???

It is both. You can set it to however you want it-- contextual or you can give it specific product names to show. The site in my sig tells you how to do both or read the Chitika blog.

SamOwen
Oct 27th 2005, 10:20 pm
Yesterday earning was really bad, anyone experience low payout last night with ChitikaI actually saw more per click yesterday.

soul-healer
Oct 27th 2005, 11:37 pm
I actually saw more per click yesterday.

Which types of ads you served with Chitika eMiniMalls

nikolay
Oct 28th 2005, 7:48 am
Is chitika a PPC or you get comission for sold products too? how much do you get paid for a click in average?

TheHoff
Oct 28th 2005, 7:52 am
Is chitika a PPC or you get comission for sold products too? how much do you get paid for a click in average?

It is PPC not per lead or per sale. Clicks range from $0.20 to over $2.00. Some Adsense clicks get that high but the norm is more like 5 or 10 cents these days after Smart Pricing. Chitika's clicks pay 60% flat rate so you know you aren't getting shafted and the average payment per click is much higher than Adsense's average unless you're in a rich niche.

SamOwen
Oct 28th 2005, 9:31 am
Which types of ads you served with Chitika eMiniMallsJust items I know my members will be interested in. Don't try to aim for the high paying items (what ever they are), go for site relevant items and you'll see good earnings.

swoop
Oct 28th 2005, 11:01 am
I applied to Chitika a couple of days ago, but no word yet. One of the pages of my hobby site would offer perfect targetting for one of the items that they "sell."

How long does it take to get approved or otherwise?
Do they send you notification if you have been declined?

Thank you.

soul-healer
Oct 28th 2005, 11:34 am
Just items I know my members will be interested in. Don't try to aim for the high paying items (what ever they are), go for site relevant items and you'll see good earnings.

I have figured out some high paying and low paying keywords for chitika. Its better to write a blog entry will write details about my experience with chitika so far.

Hope you will like to read and share yours aswell.

mikejmu
Oct 28th 2005, 12:37 pm
is it okay to use these alternate names like www.chiatika.com and www.chitikaa.com ?

TheHoff
Oct 28th 2005, 2:47 pm
is it okay to use these alternate names like www.chiatika.com and www.chitikaa.com ?

Those are just affiliate redirects. I own chitika.ca and have spoken to them about it.. no problem as long as I don't represent myself as Chitika. If you're going to sign up, might as well use a link from someone here -- like mine in my sig? or someone else in this thread.. doesn't hurt you, but is a nice little bonus for someone else.

TheHoff
Oct 28th 2005, 2:47 pm
>>How long does it take to get approved or otherwise?

Used to be under 24 hours, but it seems they are swamped now.

>>Do they send you notification if you have been declined?

Definitely, one way or the other you'll here. And if they say no, fight it and you might get accepted.

webstien
Oct 29th 2005, 10:25 am
Chitika contacted me about my redirects (no doubt from a tip from the Gestapo members AKA Jealous people). They told me I can have a site that links to them but not redirect. So I guess ill have to make a little "portal" site.

It was nice of them not to just cancel my account. My thanks go out the the snitch! Much appreciated.

TheHoff
Oct 29th 2005, 10:38 am
It was nice of them not to just cancel my account.

Yea, excellent customer service for their publishers... but they are still young and with a relatively small market share. I do hope they keep the standards up as they grow. They contacted me as well about clearly stating that my site is not associated with Chitika... and the dot.org also changed their redirect. I wouldn't blame the Gestapo, I bet they are just checking on where the referrals are coming from and possibly looking at the search for 'chitika' on Google, etc.

soul-healer
Oct 29th 2005, 11:52 am
I have write my Experience with chitika for high paying keywords.

High Paying Keywords Chitika eMiniMalls (http://chitika.bloggerteam.com/entry.php?u=chitika&e_id=197)

Hope this will help publishers.

:)