View Full Version : odd links page...is it a kind of spam?
Julia-IT-Inventors
Aug 18th 2005, 7:20 am
please look at text content at the top of the page http://www.vlasishost.com/news/web-design-and-development.html
they offer to add my link to this page and link to this page as well...
I find the text a little bit strange...pieces of phrases, lack for punctuation...
is is spam?
page PR is 0 as well as home page....
the link page is accessible through 3 clicks - home>news>p2>web design and development - I don't accept links placed more than 2 clicks away from home page, so I will decline this link trade, but just wonder about the text...
also...this web site http://www.guardianebusiness.com is exact copy of the mentioned above....and I have my link here http://www.guardianebusiness.com/news/software-development-services.html
Do you think I must cancel this link exchange because of probabl duplicate content issue and spammy kind of site?
Any comments are welcome because I haven't had experience with this kind of SEO details.
Thanks!!!
relixx
Aug 18th 2005, 7:44 am
Looks like dupe content and a spam site to me :( I'd avoid it like the plague even if it was a legit site, because who would want to associate with a crappy site? What would your customers/visitors say?
AfterHim.com
Aug 18th 2005, 8:01 am
You should find that page a lot spammy...
NetMidWest
Aug 18th 2005, 8:03 am
Looks like an automated content system - ArticleBot or something similar.
Run.
Julia-IT-Inventors
Aug 18th 2005, 11:58 am
thanks! going to delete my link from there....
fcmisc
Aug 18th 2005, 2:27 pm
Looks like Markov text to me. And it's not even done very well! How amateur.
relixx
Aug 19th 2005, 12:42 am
Looks like Markov text to me. And it's not even done very well! How amateur.
What's markov text?
fcmisc
Aug 22nd 2005, 8:16 am
Markov text is computer generated text based on probability tables. If you have something like the whole of Romeo and Juliet, you can count how many times the word "and" follows the word "Romeo", for example. If you do that for every word you get a nice table of frequencies. If you then take a random starting word, you can get the next word by associated the probability of the next word that comes out with the frequency with which it followed the previous word in the source doc (Romeo and Juliet).
I hope that makes sense. There are better explanations on the internet.
relixx
Aug 22nd 2005, 11:17 pm
Markov text is computer generated text based on probability tables. If you have something like the whole of Romeo and Juliet, you can count how many times the word "and" follows the word "Romeo", for example. If you do that for every word you get a nice table of frequencies. If you then take a random starting word, you can get the next word by associated the probability of the next word that comes out with the frequency with which it followed the previous word in the source doc (Romeo and Juliet).
I hope that makes sense. There are better explanations on the internet.
Yeah, it did, thanks.
charless
Aug 23rd 2005, 2:03 am
Yes, it looks like a dynamically generated site :)
macdesign
Oct 21st 2005, 7:21 am
I just did a search and found this thread, since I've been receiving some link requests from them for different sites I own. Anyone else getting email from them?
It seems their process is automatic and a little illogical, one request was for a travel agency page to be put in a cartoon and animation page I have.
The latest was for http://www.vlasishost.com/news/address-custom-programming.html
Also all their PR seems to be empty.
And as stated above, the text seems to be written by a drunken robot.
relixx
Oct 22nd 2005, 12:28 pm
I just did a search and found this thread, since I've been receiving some link requests from them for different sites I own. Anyone else getting email from them?
It seems their process is automatic and a little illogical, one request was for a travel agency page to be put in a cartoon and animation page I have.
The latest was for http://www.vlasishost.com/news/address-custom-programming.html
Also all their PR seems to be empty.
And as stated above, the text seems to be written by a drunken robot.
I wouldn't touch them with a 40' pole
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.