Electronics - Adult ADHD - Wordpress Themes - Find jobs - Debt Consolidation

PDA

View Full Version : Suspicious site access


macdesign
Aug 11th 2005, 11:42 am
I keep getting hits from http://www.partypoker.com/ into one of my blogs - something does not seem right, and I think they are trying to autopost spam comments. Theirs site is spammy and creates multiple popups and wants to download software.

I did some searches and found these

http://www.texashousing.org/txlihis/discussit/lihtcforum/Messages/Credit-10yearsbutsubjectt.html

http://www.freesheetmusicplus.com/messages/msg1035196122237.htm

which seem to contain garbage comments originating from them.

Any ideas on dealing with it?

Smyrl
Aug 11th 2005, 11:50 am
J. D. seems to be expert on this. Block through .htaccess. Some block based on URL, some based on poison words like Viagra, poker, ... If all spammers are coming from same IP block IP but typically they just start spamming from another.

Good luck with the spam battle.

Shannon

digitalpoint
Aug 11th 2005, 11:53 am
You sure it's not "just" referrer spam?

crew
Aug 11th 2005, 11:56 am
Yeah, I've been getting alot of poker related referrer spam in the past couple of weeks too.

lorien1973
Aug 11th 2005, 12:02 pm
I got those pill site submitting comments to my directory all the time. Its gotten so bad, that I'm about ready to turn off the comment features on the site.

J.D.
Aug 11th 2005, 12:17 pm
Shannon's right. Search DP for referrer spam and you'll find tons of posts on how to deal with them.

J.D.