View Full Version : Site PR went from 7 to 0..seen this before?
ehenderson
Jul 28th 2005, 9:17 am
We had a site with a PR of 7 that just went to 0 overnight. All the sub-pages had PR of 5, they also went to 0. It was very strong in the SERPs and is now gone completely.
Has anyone seen this before, if so what may have been the cause, and could the PR "come back".
We also had sites dissapear with the last burbon update but they have all come back to their original position and have maintained thier PR.
This site is a subdomain, the main .com also lost its rank (we don't own the main level domain) is this something that was passed along, ie. have they done something to shoot themselves in the foot and inflicted us with the same wound?
Crazy_Rob
Jul 28th 2005, 9:30 am
What's the site?
ehenderson
Jul 28th 2005, 9:35 am
massagechairs.pointcom.com
ehenderson
Jul 28th 2005, 9:36 am
sorry
massagechairs.pointcom.com (http://massagechairs.pointcom.com)
lorien1973
Jul 28th 2005, 9:39 am
dupe content with massage-chairs.com that is being linked to from the site?
Design Agent
Jul 28th 2005, 9:41 am
First guess -Yes
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&safe=off&c2coff=1&client=safari&rls=en&q=site%3Awww.pointcom.com%2F&btnG=Search
Crazy_Rob
Jul 28th 2005, 9:49 am
dupe content with massage-chairs.com that is being linked to from the site?
Looks like it.
chachi
Jul 28th 2005, 9:51 am
I was going to ask if you are buying links to that site
Crazy_Rob
Jul 28th 2005, 9:57 am
I was going to ask if you are buying links to that site
It had 19,000 links in msn. I guess it depends on how fast they were "aquired".
chachi
Jul 28th 2005, 10:08 am
Sheeeeit, that is all? :) Sounds natural
ehenderson
Jul 28th 2005, 10:08 am
The owners of the main domain just added several hundred if not thousand domains to their raid server many of which point to this domain. Could this have effected us that much? The content dupe is minor and is actually used across about a dozen other sites not uncommon in the industry.
chachi
Jul 28th 2005, 10:11 am
Guessing, I would say yeah...that has a good shot at doing it :)
ehenderson
Jul 28th 2005, 10:28 am
Links in G just went to 0 also. This sounds like a manual G penalization. Sound right to you guys?
vectorgraphx
Jul 28th 2005, 10:30 am
This site is a subdomain, the main .com also lost its rank (we don't own the main level domain) is this something that was passed along, ie. have they done something to shoot themselves in the foot and inflicted us with the same wound?
This definitely sounds likely...
Design Agent
Jul 28th 2005, 10:31 am
http://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=UTF-8&p=pointcom.com%2F&fr=sfp&b=1
lorien1973
Jul 28th 2005, 10:37 am
Yeah. I dunno if its manual, but it looks like the word from google is that they are taking their toys and going home.
subdomain spam? wasn't google talking about that at one of the search engine conferences?
lorien1973
Jul 28th 2005, 10:44 am
why am i having deja vu?
Design Agent
Jul 28th 2005, 10:45 am
deja vu.. when one side of the brain reacts a fraction of a second later than the other.
Or.. maybe in a past life you read that message on dp ;)
chachi
Jul 28th 2005, 10:58 am
any reason why we need two threads for this (http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=22845)
SEO Jeff
Jul 28th 2005, 11:36 am
I just noticed the same thing with Bluegeckonetwork.com. Same things happening
PR0
No Pages Indexed
and I get your standard message
Sorry, no information is available for the URL "www.bluegeckonetwork.com"
Find web pages from the site "www.bluegeckonetwork.com"
Find web pages that contain the term "www.bluegeckonetwork.com"
Could this be a possible glitch? Because BGN has done nothing wrong except link to a banned network partner that the guy was going to take off after noticing it.
ehenderson
Jul 28th 2005, 11:45 am
sorry you can disregard this one. Just found out we had a tremendous boost in backlinks two days ago, that probably got us penalized or worse...banned.
ehenderson
Jul 28th 2005, 11:46 am
Cool description of deja-vu
gatordun
Jul 28th 2005, 12:55 pm
You can get black listed and that is probably what happened.
iskandar
Jul 29th 2005, 12:51 am
I think it's blacklisted for spam
http://www.whois.sc/pointcom.com
Look at the line under the US Flag.
Crazy_Rob
Jul 29th 2005, 6:26 am
Sho' is:
http://www.whois.sc/rbl/?ip=65.255.32.5
gatordun
Jul 29th 2005, 9:00 am
You get blacklisted for this too.
"The owners of the main domain just added several hundred if not thousand domains to their raid server many of which point to this domain."
gatordun
Jul 29th 2005, 9:06 am
If you can't list sites legitimately with it’s own content then why have them?
Search engines are blacklisting and removing people for this type of behavior and making dummy pages to point to sites.
swoop
Jul 29th 2005, 5:23 pm
sorry you can disregard this one. Just found out we had a tremendous boost in backlinks two days ago, that probably got us penalized or worse...banned.Sounds like your SEO company screwed up.
jimrthy
Aug 1st 2005, 11:37 am
Or possibly the SEO for the main domain. I've read that subdomains generally don't affect the parent domain. Then again, I've also heard that sometimes PR will just magically do this for a few days. If it doesn't bounce back up, the site's probably a wash.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.