View Full Version : Were these sites banned?
mikelbeck
Jul 28th 2005, 6:27 am
A client of mine has two sites:
www.sellhomeshere.com
www.legalhomeforms.com
The first one has an Alexa rank of 263,000, has 960 links in Alltheweb, 994 in Altavista, 1997 in MSN, 1200 in Yahoo but 0 in Google.
The second one has an Alexa rank of 199,000, has 37,700 links in Alltheweb, 37,800 in Altavista, 11,963 in MSN, 38,100 in Yahoo but 0 in Google. The PR was 4 before the last update, now it's 0.
What's with Google? Were these sites banned for some reason? If so, is there any way to confirm that and to find out why?
Smyrl
Jul 28th 2005, 6:43 am
When I did a whois on sellhomeshere I found the following
Blacklist Status: Clear - Last blocked 2005-06-27
I do not know what the last blocked means but do wonder.
Shannon
glorybeme
Jul 28th 2005, 7:34 am
How did you find that with the whois tool? What did it say as far as LegalHomeForms.com ? These are my sites so I am trying to figure out what is going on. Thanks!
mikelbeck
Jul 28th 2005, 7:59 am
How did you find that with the whois tool? What did it say as far as LegalHomeForms.com ? These are my sites so I am trying to figure out what is going on. Thanks!
Hey Gloria, I didn't know you were a member here.
When I did a whois on sellhomeshere I found the following
Blacklist Status: Clear - Last blocked 2005-06-27
I do not know what the last blocked means but do wonder.
Looking at the blacklist history on the whois page, it shows that the server's IP has been blacklisted at dsbl multiple times. Would Google drop the domain from it's index if the server was blacklisted?
The other one (LegalHomeForms.com) shows a clear blacklist status, though.
glorybeme
Jul 28th 2005, 8:21 am
With LegalHomeForms being clearly blacklisted what can I do? I have not been trying to decieve the search engines. I have heard that once your are blacklisted it is almost impossible to get back.
I did join powerlinks.com and now I am thinking that it is possibly a link farm, so I canceled that real quick. Any help would be appreciated.
glorybeme
Jul 28th 2005, 8:29 am
I just found this tool and looked up legalhomeforms and it said blacklist status clear?
http://www.whois.sc/legalhomeforms.com
lorien1973
Jul 28th 2005, 8:44 am
Looking at the blacklist history on the whois page, it shows that the server's IP has been blacklisted at dsbl multiple times. Would Google drop the domain from it's index if the server was blacklisted?
Probably not. I host my stores on yahoo. When I check my urls at the blacklist checker, it shows last cleared a few days ago. I bet the yahoo IP gets blacklisted all the time and cleared out again. Has never affected any rankings I've had as far as i can tell.
mikelbeck
Jul 28th 2005, 9:44 am
Ok, then any other ideas as to what may have happened here?
Smyrl
Jul 28th 2005, 11:09 am
How did you find that with the whois tool? What did it say as far as LegalHomeForms.com ? These are my sites so I am trying to figure out what is going on. Thanks!
I got this info from http://www.whois.sc/name-spinner/ . Your legal forms site did not show such of a result.
I personally do not know what problem might be. When someone posts a query like this one I usually look at sites out of curiosity.
Hope someone can offer more advice than I can.
Shannon
Tommo
Jul 28th 2005, 11:13 am
From here they look like they are blacklisted in google...
I ran the test I mentioned in another thread and the indications are they are both blacklisted. The test i run only seems to work on a few datacenters .
(I think I mentioned it on your superb marketing forum (/spam))
Smyrl
Jul 28th 2005, 11:16 am
How did you find that with the whois tool? What did it say as far as LegalHomeForms.com ? These are my sites so I am trying to figure out what is going on. Thanks!
I got this info from http://www.whois.sc/name-spinner/ . Your legal forms site did not show such of a result.
I personally do not know what problem might be. When someone posts a query like this one I usually look at sites out of curiosity.
Since domain names were registered less than a year ago could problem be Google sand box? I have never been convinced it exists but ...
Hope some one can offer more advice than I can.
Shannon
mikelbeck
Jul 28th 2005, 11:21 am
From here they look like they are blacklisted in google...
I ran the test I mentioned in another thread and the indications are they are both blacklisted. The test i run only seems to work on a few datacenters .
(I think I mentioned it on your superb marketing forum (/spam))
I haven't seen the thread you're talking about. Can you explain the test you're talking about here?
Tommo
Jul 30th 2005, 5:25 am
I haven't seen the thread you're talking about. Can you explain the test you're talking about here?
Sure.
this only seems to work on certain datacentres
If you do a check for the site on google for www.legalhomeforms.com
you get this:
Sorry, no information is available for the URL www.LegalHomeForms.com
* Find web pages from the site www.LegalHomeForms.com
* Find web pages that contain the term "www.LegalHomeForms.com"
if you then search for a site you know doesn't exist you get this
Sorry, no information is available for the URL www.ABCLegalHomeForms.com
* If the URL is valid, try visiting that web page by clicking on the following link: www.ABCLegalHomeForms.com
* Find web pages from the site www.ABCLegalHomeForms.com
* Find web pages that contain the term "www.ABCLegalHomeForms.com"
now note the difference (in Bold!!!!)
I hope that makes sense
glorybeme
Jul 31st 2005, 8:09 pm
Can anyone tell me why this happened? I have not been trying to "trick" the search engines, my site has been active since 2003 and I have never had a problem with google. Has this happened to anyone else?
TommyD
Jul 31st 2005, 8:23 pm
Well one positive point, looks like G has a cached image of the site. Did you fire off an email asking for advice?
tom
mikelbeck
Aug 1st 2005, 5:29 am
Well one positive point, looks like G has a cached image of the site. Did you fire off an email asking for advice?
tom
How are you seeing a cached image? I'm not seeing anything for either URL.
TommyD
Aug 1st 2005, 8:58 am
What I see:
www.sellhomeshere.com PR4 G cached Jul 27, 2005 08:01:57 GMT
www.legalhomeforms.com PR0 G Cached Jul 20, 2005 18:07:03 GMT
Both are cached, and one has PR, neither looks 'grey'd'.
Does this help?
tom
mikelbeck
Aug 1st 2005, 9:35 am
What I see:
www.sellhomeshere.com PR4 G cached Jul 27, 2005 08:01:57 GMT
www.legalhomeforms.com PR0 G Cached Jul 20, 2005 18:07:03 GMT
Both are cached, and one has PR, neither looks 'grey'd'.
Does this help?
tom
Where are you seeing this?
I don't see anything in Google, and my toolbar shows PR0 for both sites.
TommyD
Aug 1st 2005, 1:31 pm
Where are you seeing this?
I don't see anything in Google, and my toolbar shows PR0 for both sites.
I checked the domains and posted, and when you asked how, I saw a PR4 again, now I'm looking and nothing. The PR4 is gone.
Now both are showing PR N/A. Wondering if something is wrong with my plugin now.
:(
tom
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.