View Full Version : Lost API key!
alsenor
Aug 1st 2004, 10:08 am
I had one of those, I know, because I had installed some sites on the backlink tracking page.
Today I ran a spyware remover that also removed my useful cookies, and therefore I can not even get to my backlink tracker stats.
What to do now?
digitalpoint
Aug 1st 2004, 10:24 am
Login to the keyword tracker and go to Edit Preferences, you should have your Google API key listed there.
alsenor
Aug 1st 2004, 11:10 am
So it does - thanks!
Funny, now my cookie worked again as well.
Still give me all zeroes only for that site though.
It always comes up the same way while running:
Query Thread Running...
Remaining... Keywords: 1, Links: 2 Refresh (http://www.digitalpoint.com/tools/keywords/)
It can't really be, that this is a meaningful status report, can it?
digitalpoint
Aug 1st 2004, 12:13 pm
There was a problem with the Google API servers last night, so some people might see a "ghost" status. Run the "Check All" and it should clear it.
alsenor
Aug 1st 2004, 12:33 pm
No, still shows the same status and all zeroes result.
Could this be because of the "top 200" limit in the search?
digitalpoint
Aug 1st 2004, 12:35 pm
No, it shouldn't cause the thread to hang... maybe the API server is still having a few problems...
fryman
Aug 1st 2004, 11:14 pm
I just used the tool without any problems, you should try again, I'm sure it's working now.
alsenor
Aug 2nd 2004, 7:53 am
It doesn't look like it "hangs" in any way, at least not with my check, but I don't understand the result - it never shows any backlinks at all.
Back Links Over Time
www.erotical.list4.us/ (http://www.erotical.list4.us/) Date Links Aug 1, 2004 0
digitalpoint
Aug 2nd 2004, 8:54 am
It has no reported links by Google...
http://www.google.com/search?q=link:www.erotical.list4.us
alsenor
Aug 2nd 2004, 9:47 am
Obviously, which my whole thread has been about!
I *know* that there are dozens of links to that site out there, because I have placed many of them myself, and many have been placed by exchanges.
I Google blind? How can one trust those figures if the facts speak against them?
digitalpoint
Aug 2nd 2004, 10:31 am
Google doesn't publicly show all links... Generally it's PageRank 4 or higher links only.
alsenor
Aug 2nd 2004, 10:52 am
I am not sure I understand. According to what you say my other site in the report (The Battle Group (http://www.ggholiday.com/bg/)) would have to be backlinked from 90(!) pages with a page rank of 4 or better? By definition there could only be four of those, right?
digitalpoint
Aug 2nd 2004, 11:02 am
No, PageRank (publicly shown at least) is a scale between 0 and 10. You can check a page's PageRank at http://rankwhere.com/google-page-rank.php
alsenor
Aug 2nd 2004, 11:22 am
Oh, I see. I confused that with the actual ranking, as in "top ten".
So how does Google rank pages for that scale, and what does it mean to us?
digitalpoint
Aug 2nd 2004, 11:26 am
The simple answer is, the more links a page has, the higher the PageRank will be for it.
alsenor
Aug 2nd 2004, 9:43 pm
The simple answer is, the more links a page has, the higher the PageRank will be for it.You ARE talking of BACKlinks, right?
digitalpoint
Aug 2nd 2004, 9:46 pm
Right you are...
alsenor
Aug 2nd 2004, 9:52 pm
Ok then, I guess I'll have to post a hellafalot more to get counted! http://forums.digitalpoint.com/images/icons/icon9.gif
respree
Aug 2nd 2004, 9:57 pm
Google doesn't publicly show all links... Generally it's PageRank 4 or higher links only.
I believe there's been some recent changes to Google's PR4 filter.
http://forums.searchenginewatch.com/showthread.php?t=668
hulkster
Aug 5th 2004, 12:23 pm
Remember that Shawn's tool comes with a unlimited money-back guarantee if you aren't happy with the results ... ;-)
dchoe
Jan 20th 2005, 12:20 am
back to the topic.. is there a way to get my api key if isn't stored on any other website? or should i just get a new account
digitalpoint
Jan 20th 2005, 12:22 am
https://www.google.com/accounts/NewAccount?continue=http://api.google.com/createkey&followup=http://api.google.com/createkey
If you use the same email address, it will send it to you again.
dchoe
Jan 20th 2005, 12:35 am
cool thanks :)
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.