Debt Consolidation - Debt Consolidation - Free Advertising - Debt Consolidation - Payday Loans

PDA

View Full Version : Someone "translated" my website to thai...


miko67
Apr 4th 2005, 10:21 am
Take a look at this address:

http://202.43.196.230/language/translatedPage2?lp=en_zt&text=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.potteryceramicsart.frac.dk%2F&.intl=tw

compare it to one of my sigs and you'll see that someone stole, or "translated" the entire website. It says it's "powered by SYSTRAN".

I've read about this in one thread before here on dp but never thought it would happen to my rather modest little site. Question now is:

1) Does it hurt rankings and number of visitors?
2) How illegal is it considered to be?
3) What can be done about it internally? (thinking in terms of protecting content, something I'm not too keen on to start with, but...)
4) What can be done about it eksternally? (thinking in terms of calling the "Google-police" and what have you :p )
5) Who else have seen this happening? (I'm betting someone else have started a thread about these guys befor me, but I didn't see it and I've been rather close and personal with dp lately)

Hoping to get some enlightning answers here... I just got back in the rankings after a full month-and-a-half of server break down, and I'd like to stay there ;)

Crazy_Rob
Apr 4th 2005, 10:35 am
They did the same thing to DP!!!

http://202.43.196.230/language/translatedPage2?lp=en_zt&text=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.digitalpoint.com%2F&.intl=tw

;)

Will.Spencer
Apr 4th 2005, 10:38 am
bash-2.05a$ nslookup 202.43.196.230
Server: localhost.net
Address: 127.0.0.1

Name: w1.search.vip.tpe.yahoo.com
Address: 202.43.196.230

miko67
Apr 4th 2005, 12:07 pm
Will, you gotta explain that one..:o :eek: :confused: I'm completely stomped. What was that post about again - please excuse my ignorance and educate me a little :o

Will.Spencer
Apr 4th 2005, 12:30 pm
I apologize, I was being terse again. It's a know character flaw. <blush>

The organization that copied and translated your entire site is "w1.search.vip.tpe.yahoo.com", also know as "Yahoo Search for UK and Ireland."

Crazy_Rob
Apr 4th 2005, 12:35 pm
Nothing has been trashed, stolen or copied.

Starbug
Apr 4th 2005, 2:19 pm
Yea.. it's simply a user translating your page from within one of the search engines result pages.

Don't worry :)