View Full Version : Grab the domain tvgyide.com before anyone else does
wowla_123
Feb 11th 2009, 10:12 pm
Hi,
While searching for domains last night, I came across this domain name that has been recently deleted, It is still unregistered. That means, you can register now using any domain registrar!
The domain is tvgyide.com, that is a spelling mistake of tvguide.com. It gets over 6 million unique visits (http://www.quantcast.com/tvguide.com) by the US (traffic from other countries is apart from it).
I think it can be a good deal to register tvgyide.com (keeping this point in mind that in keyboard, the key U is with Y).
If you register it, just remember me in your prayers in case you start making big bucks from it :)
domainloco.net
Feb 11th 2009, 10:23 pm
Cyber Squatting ruins our names as domainers and puts our industry in danger. Please don't encourage trademark infringement in this forum. I'm tired of lazy bastards trying to make a quick buck on someone else's hard work and sweat. So wowla_123 you are now branded as a squatter, congratulations!
raghul
Feb 12th 2009, 3:43 am
@domainloco.net i dont get how this is trademark infringement ?? please can you explain??
domainloco.net
Feb 12th 2009, 7:39 am
You are using a misspelt domain name based on their registered trademark, TV Guide. If their TM did not exist, would you have registered the domain? NO. Then it is seen as bad fait for trying to make money off their name.
If you squatt their name by doing anything other than putting up a blank HTML page on it, they will sue you and take the name away.
Stay away from TM names and misspellings kids!
@domainloco.net i dont get how this is trademark infringement ?? please can you explain??
raghul
Feb 12th 2009, 7:58 am
ohh i never knew TvGuide was a TM name lol...now i know.
sarahk
Feb 12th 2009, 4:43 pm
The domain is tvgyide.com, that is a spelling mistake of tvguide.com. It gets over 6 million unique visits (http://www.quantcast.com/tvguide.com) by the US (traffic from other countries is apart from it).even if you didn't know, why do you think the domain gets so much traffic?
after all it only used to be a niche directory :)
http://web.archive.org/web/20050212221004/http://tvgyide.com/
Ebayguy
Feb 12th 2009, 6:50 pm
yep, this could get you into trouble.
transitnetwork
Feb 12th 2009, 7:08 pm
*sigh* Come on...
Hoster1983
Feb 13th 2009, 1:57 am
TV Guide is not trademarked, domainloco. No body can own rights to a normal English word....
domainloco.net
Feb 13th 2009, 2:20 am
sigh... really? It's called a BRAND NAME, and it is a trademark.
Don't believe me? Okay look at this UDRP (http://www.adrforum.com/domains/decisions/97094.htm) filing by TvGuide.com
lol whomever registers this domain will have a lawsuit faster than you can say "trademark".
"The Complainant registered TV GUIDE as a trademark with the USPTO on March 10, 1998 in connection with the goods of Television, VCR, etc., in Class 9 and the services of TV Broadcasting Program Transmission, etc., in Class 38."
TV Guide is not trademarked, domainloco. No body can own rights to a normal English word....
Astroman
Feb 13th 2009, 2:59 am
Were you selling it, or was the post just to say it was available to register?
domainloco.net
Feb 13th 2009, 7:52 am
The thread was started to say the domain was available for registration, but apparently someone was dumb enough to register it yesterday, don't tell us we didn't warn you!
Astroman
Feb 13th 2009, 8:10 am
I can't imagine why anyone would say you didn't warn them, or why they would expect anything from you.
Seems someone in India has it now anyway, I doubt they give a shit about cybersquatting or trademarks to be honest. It would have been more worrying legally for someone in the US to own it I guess, but I don't really think TVGuide.com could care less about it either - having checked it seems all the other possible typing snafus have been registered also, and they're just a bunch of tedious parked pages of no use to anyone.
I might have tried redirecting it to a site about selling Televisions, but I bet it wouldn't get anywhere near the great results a lot of people might imagine it would. For instance the Alexa traffic stats for tvguode.com are laughable in their patheticness.
Most people just don't bother typing things into the address bar any more, so misstyped domain names are very much of yesteryear I think.
domainloco.net
Feb 13th 2009, 10:03 am
I agree completely, it just makes me mad to see people make a failed attempt at running a business online by taking other people's hard work.
Anyway, I contacted Paul who is the president. He is taking full action against the squatters lol so whomever registered that domain is going to get the full wrath of a HUGE media company.
I know they win cases pretty easily, so my advice is the following:
1. cancel the domain name and let them know you are doing so.
2. forward it to tvguide.com
3. forward it to google
4. 404 page it.
I can't imagine why anyone would say you didn't warn them, or why they would expect anything from you.
Seems someone in India has it now anyway, I doubt they give a shit about cybersquatting or trademarks to be honest. It would have been more worrying legally for someone in the US to own it I guess, but I don't really think TVGuide.com could care less about it either - having checked it seems all the other possible typing snafus have been registered also, and they're just a bunch of tedious parked pages of no use to anyone.
I might have tried redirecting it to a site about selling Televisions, but I bet it wouldn't get anywhere near the great results a lot of people might imagine it would. For instance the Alexa traffic stats for tvguode.com are laughable in their patheticness.
Most people just don't bother typing things into the address bar any more, so misstyped domain names are very much of yesteryear I think.
G Ramjit
Feb 13th 2009, 10:12 am
Wow you should always beware of TM before buying a domain.. Do they refund you money for example if you reg is a godaddy and return the domain ?? I think no !
dlatua
Feb 13th 2009, 10:13 am
so why tvguide.org is for sale if tvguide is a TM??????
http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?domain=tvguide.org&tracked=&partnerid=28519
domainloco.net
Feb 13th 2009, 10:38 am
Not a clue, I guess there are more ignorant domainers than I thought.
so why tvguide.org is for sale if tvguide is a TM??????
http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?domain=tvguide.org&tracked=&partnerid=28519
dlatua
Feb 13th 2009, 11:03 am
lol and after that "ignorant" there are other 5 ppl who OFFER to BUY that domain...... so why TvGuide.com is doing nothing for this? I dont think they dont know about this domain (tvguide.org) they should first check the other TLD and than typo domains!
thanks
domainloco.net
Feb 13th 2009, 11:12 am
Yeah if the domain were getting type in traffic the would care, but I can probably tell you it's not more than a couple a day. And IF they developed the domain, it would be lost in a matter of days. lol
lol and after that "ignorant" there are other 5 ppl who OFFER to BUY that domain...... so why TvGuide.com is doing nothing for this? I dont think they dont know about this domain (tvguide.org) they should first check the other TLD and than typo domains!
thanks
dlatua
Feb 13th 2009, 11:25 am
yeah, but there is also SEDO in the "middle" for this domain (tvguide.org) because they allow this domain to be sold.... First of all tvguide.org shouldn't be on sale lol
anyway thats not my problem :D I'm just curious, what is going to happen lol :p
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.