Jobs search - Lyrics - Debt Consolidation - to-reuse.com - Find jobs

PDA

View Full Version : freerelevantlinks - Pyramid link scam?


nobluff
Aug 7th 2006, 9:25 pm
I know some of the posters here use this service so maybe you could post your thoughts on my concerns and/or questions.

I joined the freerelevantlinks service +30 days ago, it specifies that you should see backlinks within 1 month. The links are supposed to be shown in your freerelevantlinks user account.
If after 1 month you have nothing, you are then supposed to contact them, however you can not do this as the e-mail contact link doesn’t work (redirects you to another page saying they no longer accept e-mails due to popularity of the service).

The way it is supposed to work is you link to 5 relevant websites on the bottom of your index page and/or on as many other pages you like. (so if I link to site A,B,C,D,E and have 10 pages, site A,B,C,D,E will get 10 links from me). This is the very simplified concept on how it works, check out the site for more details..

I am also wondering if this could be seen as a pyramid link scam? If I am the last person to join this service, who will then link to me? Is this the way it works or have I got it all wrong?

aeronautic.net
Aug 19th 2006, 4:38 pm
I've looked at that and the removal of the contact link - or ANY contact method, smells to me.

What website or service in the world would fail to provide an e-mail form or phone number?

Except "G" of course.

;)

Even "G" provides a form.

Be nice to see someone from that firm post here to explain themselves.

sixty6
Aug 19th 2006, 8:52 pm
That sounds a lot like a pyramid scheme..

Anyway, here is their contact form:
http://www.freerelevantlinks.com/ContactUs.aspx

and here is what it says:
Due to the overwhelming popularity of Free Relevant Links, we are no longer able to answer individual questions. Please read through the FAQ page to find answers to commonly asked questions.

a bit too fishy...

felix77
Aug 20th 2006, 1:28 am
back in 99 this used to be called a 'link farm' which google hated for obvious reasons.. dont know what use they are now except a few links on websites you dont even know or ever heard of.. might just end up draining your rankings..might be wrong..

dcristo
Aug 20th 2006, 4:52 pm
I remember stubmling onto this site. In their FAQ, after reading:

After 6 months of being a customer, you will reach max weighting.

I decided it wasn't for me. Sounds like something which will only benefit them.

nobluff
Aug 28th 2006, 10:02 pm
Thanks all for posting your thoughts on this, here is my update:

1. I eventually got 1 link from them in about 40 days. 10 days late.
2. I checked the link, my link want not on the page AND the PR was less than 3 (site claims you need a PR of 3 to get into program.)
3. I checked all of the 5 sites I am linking too and found:
a. 1 No longer exists.
b. 1 has a page rank of 0.
c. 1 has a page rank of 1.
d. 1 has a page rank of 2.
e. 1 has a page rank of 5.

So in conclusion they have lied to me 6 times in all. The only way I could contact them is when I complained about the site that was supposed to link to me, there is no other way to get hold of these scammers!

I Hope this post provides enough information to other that want to use the "freerelevantlinks" service. I like the idea, just a pity that it’s badly run.

Kayakman
Sep 1st 2007, 10:40 pm
Hi my name is Rob and I just bought Freerelevantlinks.com in May of 2007 and we have totally revamped and created a new service. We have an 800 number along with Live help and yes we do answer our emails. I do agree that the last service here was pretty much scammy and thats why we dumped it. Please atleast take a look at the website and read about our service, you will not find a better Free Link Exchange service on the web. Thanks.:D

Rob
http://www.freerelevantlinks.com
1.877.823.1543 ext 1