Sickthing
Sep 21st 2008, 4:42 am
Looking at my stats within Wordpress I noticed an IP that was the IP that had viewed most pages.
Ii looked it up and saw it was own by a dommain called GoogleAlerts.com which is owned by Indigo Stream Technologies. At first I thought it was Google Alerts service from Google but on looking more the site clearly states it is not affiliated with Google at all. It is not the same Google Alerts that most of us know about. This site offers a free alert service and a premium alert service. I did not sign up.
I did email them to ask how I am benefiting from their visits to my site (since it is not a human). To me it seems like it could be a major waste of bandwidth. I checked my Webizlier stats though and they were not listed there. I'm wondering though if they showed up in a different name as ThePlanet.com showed up as the major bandwidth user. My host uses theplanet.com though.
I'm considering blocking this company from visiting my site. They are also related to copysafe.com To me copysafe.com looks like Google but its not Google. That caused me some concern there as well. copysafe is a service that searches to see if your material has been copied to another site. Very useful but that they made their site look like Google caused me to pause.
The GoogleAlerts.com site claims to have a good working relationship with Google. That really shocked me.
Anyone fill me in? I'm asking here as I'm trying mostly to find out if they are just a useless drain on bandwidth without providing anything in return or not.
Thanks.
Ii looked it up and saw it was own by a dommain called GoogleAlerts.com which is owned by Indigo Stream Technologies. At first I thought it was Google Alerts service from Google but on looking more the site clearly states it is not affiliated with Google at all. It is not the same Google Alerts that most of us know about. This site offers a free alert service and a premium alert service. I did not sign up.
I did email them to ask how I am benefiting from their visits to my site (since it is not a human). To me it seems like it could be a major waste of bandwidth. I checked my Webizlier stats though and they were not listed there. I'm wondering though if they showed up in a different name as ThePlanet.com showed up as the major bandwidth user. My host uses theplanet.com though.
I'm considering blocking this company from visiting my site. They are also related to copysafe.com To me copysafe.com looks like Google but its not Google. That caused me some concern there as well. copysafe is a service that searches to see if your material has been copied to another site. Very useful but that they made their site look like Google caused me to pause.
The GoogleAlerts.com site claims to have a good working relationship with Google. That really shocked me.
Anyone fill me in? I'm asking here as I'm trying mostly to find out if they are just a useless drain on bandwidth without providing anything in return or not.
Thanks.