Debt Consolidation - Deaf Topics - Debt Consolidation - Debt Consolidation - Find jobs

PDA

View Full Version : Strange referral from Google


-Abhishek-
Jun 29th 2006, 2:09 pm
Ok Guys, Today I was just checking the traffic stats to my blog and just had a look at the referral stats, was surprised to find these URLs ...
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&dt=1151561249667&lmt=1151561249&alt_color=FFFFFF&format=160x600_as&output=html&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.favse.com%2Fsearch.php%3Fq%3Dhmboys&color_bg=FFFFFF&color_text=000000&color_
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&dt=1073195582171&format=468x60_as&output=html&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.xiannv.net%2Flink%2Fgg2.htm&color_bg=FFFFFF&color_text=000000&color_link=00CCFF&color_url=008000&color_border
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&dt=1151556171858&lmt=1151556171&format=336x280_as&output=html&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.advancedwebsearch.info%2Fshop%2Fresult.aspx%3Forig%3D10%26keyword%3Dtraducir&color_bg=FFFFFF&
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&dt=1151550188437&hints=Web%20Design&lmt=1151550188&format=234x60_as&output=html&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tutorialized.com%2Ftutorials%2FWeb-Design%2F1&color_bg=EEEEEE&color_text=00
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&dt=1151547186294&lmt=1150944661&alt_color=FFFFFF&format=250x250_as&output=html&channel=9860040532&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.on-shopping.com.au%2Faustralia%2FComputers%2F&color_bg=FF
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx&dt=1151544979840&lmt=1151544979&alternate_ad_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.best4sites.net%2Falt.php%3Fs%3DSearch%20Engine%20Optimization&format=336x280_as&output=html&channel=7879649861
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-9xxxxxxxxxxxxxx&dt=1151544360422&lmt=1151544360&format=336x280_as&output=html&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.advancedwebsearch.info%2Fshop%2Fresult.aspx%3Forig%3D10%26keyword%3Dfunny%2520short%2520video

There were about 50 of them all with different ca-pub IDs, looks like adwords to me ... But I never advertised my site on adwords ? Any idea why/how this could have happened ??

Abhishek

mattmdesign
Jun 29th 2006, 2:14 pm
Maybe someone created an adwords campaign using your URL by accident?

dkessaris
Jun 29th 2006, 2:17 pm
It looks like adwords to me as well. It may be possible that someone misspelled the URL he wanted to advertise. I have done it once (not with adwords) and was advertising a competitors site with only one letter different in the domain.

mvandemar
Jun 29th 2006, 2:57 pm
Is this your site? Or where the link came from?
http://www.advancedwebsearch.info/shop/result.aspx?orig=10&keyword=funny%20short%20video

Do any of the ads on that page lead to your site? Try reloading it a couple of times to see what comes up. Are any spelled similar to your site?

-Michael

-Abhishek-
Jun 29th 2006, 2:59 pm
My blog is abhishektripathi.com now thats an unusual indian name ... :) How can someone make that as an accident ?

rewlie
Jun 29th 2006, 3:03 pm
No offense, but I do have around 43 results on google for my name, even my name were wrong in spelling

-Abhishek-
Jun 29th 2006, 3:17 pm
No rewlie, you didn't get me! What I meant was, since the domain was my full name and i couldn't find a domain near it, so accidents are less likely ...
And even if it were, why would someone adwordise a name domain ?
Abhishek

rewlie
Jun 29th 2006, 3:34 pm
If that's the case, I dont have an idea why is it happens :)